Election for 04 DDC Chairpersons in J-K to be held on Feb 06: Top Sources

Jammu, Kathua, Shopian and Kulgam will elect their DDC chairpersons on Feb 06

Srinagar, Feb 02: The Elections for District Development Chairperson (DDC) and Deputy Chairperson in the Union Territory will be held in four districts of Jammu and Kashmir on February 6th, official sources said on Tuesday.

Top sources said, that a notification has been issued by the Deputy Commissioners of the four districts to conduct the election for the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of DDC on February 6th.

“The districts in which DDC chairperson will be elected under the first phase include Jammu, Kathua, Shopian and Kulgam,” they said.

“A meeting of DDC councilors will be held in two districts of Jammu province and two districts of Kashmir on February 6, after which the election of chairpersons in these districts will be carried out,” sources added.

If sources are to be believed the said elections in other districts will be held between February 10 and 20th.

Pertinently, SEC on Monday while Overruling all objections reserved offices of chairpersons of district development councils for schedule cates, schedule tribes and women.

As per the order issued yesterday , six seats have been reserved for women and two each for SCs and STs.

While Baramulla, Ganderbal, Shopian, Ramban and Kishtwar have been reserved for women, Poonch has been reserved for women from Schedule Tribe category.

Anantnag and Rajouri have been reserved for STs, while Jammu and Udhampur seats have been reserved for SCs. (KDC)

Leave a Reply