Govt appoints principal magistrates for Juvenile Justice Boards

Srinagar, March 31 : The State Government has designated eight judicial officers as Principal Magistrates for the Juvenile Justices Boards (JJBs) in Jammu and Kashmir.

In the first phase eight JJBs have been set up in Anantnag, Baramulla, Srinagar in Kashmir division and Jammu, Doda, Rajouri districts in Jammu division besides one each in Kargil and Leh in Ladakh region.

According to a notification issued by the government, the judicial officers include Altaf Hussain Khan (Munsiff Anantnag), Fayaz Ahmad Qureshi (Munsiff Baramulla), Parvez Iqbal (Sub Judge/ Mobile Magistrate Srinagar), Meyank Gupta (3rd Additional Munsiff Jammu), Aruri Kumar Kotwal (Sub Judge/ Mobile Magistrate Rajouri), Nuashad Ahmad Khan (Sub Judge/ Mobile Magistrate Rajouri),  Ms Spaizes Angmo (CJM Kargil) and Tsewang Phutsog (Munsiff Nobra-Leh).

The notification has been issued in consultation with the Jammu and Kashmir high court. The government accorded formal sanction to the creation of 8 additional posts of magistrates for operationalization of eight juvenile justice boards in the first phase. (GNS)

Leave a Reply