KAS Officers Association elections: Polling booths set up at district, divisional level

Counting of votes at Srinagar, Jammu on Oct 25; Returning Officer assures fool-proof secrecy, sanctity of balloting

The voting for electing the new office bearers of the Jammu and Kashmir Administrative Service Officers Association will be held from 10 am to 4 pm on 24 October 2017

According to a notification issued by Dr G N Itoo, Director School Education Kashmir, who is the Returning Officer for the election process, the counting of votes will take place on 25 October 2017 and the results would be declared the same day.

He said the voting will take place at the designated polling booths established in DC offices at all the district headquarters where the concerned ACRs have been nominated as Assistant Returning Officers (AROs). “However, for district Srinagar and for the officers posted in Move Offices and at the Divisional level, the polling booth has been set up in the office of the Non-Gazetted Employees Union at Civil Secretariat,” he said and added that all the officers with Durbar Move and those posted at Divisional and District level (Srinagar) can cast their vote in the said booth.

The KAS officers posted in New Delhi can cast their vote in the polling booth established at the office of the Resident Commissioner, J&K Govt at 5-Prithvi Raj Road where Mr Nazim Zia Khan has been designated as Assistant Returning Officer.

Dr Itoo said counting of votes will be held at the divisional headquarters of Jammu for Jammu division and at Srinagar for votes polled in Kashmir division including Leh and Kargil. “All AROs shall have to send the polled votes at their concerned booths to the counting centres by 4 pm on the voting day (Oct 24) or latest by 12 noon on 25 October 2017,” he said and added that the contesting candidates can send their representatives to the counting centres or remain personally present at one of the counting centres of choice.

Assuring complete secrecy, sanctity and security of the voting process, Dr Itoo said all such issues have been addressed in advance. He said an attested voter list has been provided to each ARO as per posting of the officers including the officers in OPG. “Every ballot is duly signed by RO/ARO and a counterfoil has been maintained. Every voter will put his signatures on the counterfoil,” he said.

He said in case any officer wants to cast his/her vote at a place other than his/her designated booth he/she shall have to inform the ARO headquarters in advance about the same.

Leave a Reply